School Governance Committee

School Governance Committee (SGC) members are interested members of the community, including parents of children at the school.

The current membership reflects a wide range of expertise and interest, and includes representation from parents; teaching and non-teaching staff; Unit/stations; HQ MOD and Dhekelia Primary School Senior Leadership Team.

We work with the Head Teacher and school staff to assist in making key decisions vital to the successful running of the school, contribute to decisions directly affecting the education and wellbeing of pupils, assist in improving standards throughout the school and monitor the school budget.

The SGC meets once a term as a whole committee and once a term in a sub-committee to review and discuss school business, and represent the views of parents.

Main Roles

Provide a strategic overview, focusing on the key issues of raising standards of achievement, establishing high expectations and promoting effective teaching and learning. Act as a critical friend providing the Head Teacher and Staff with support and advice using members’ knowledge and experience. Ensure accountability, questioning and openly discussing with the Head Teacher the school’s performance and other issues, whilst respecting both the professional roles of the Head Teacher and school staff and their responsibilities for the management of the school

We do not act as the first line for complaints about any aspect of the school and its day to day work. There is a clear procedure to follow and the school should be contacted directly either via the Class Teacher or the Head Teacher.

Please note that SGCs in MOD Schools vary in their activities compared to governing bodies in the UK, where the Governors have greater executive responsibility in the management of schools including employment of staff.

If you wish to become a member of the School Governance Committee please contact Nicole Kourtellos, Office Manager, in the School Office. You will see a giving information about the SGC at the bottom of this page. The Chair of the SGC is currently: Major Adey Penn, OC Dhekelia Station 94120 4207 or 4200.

SGC MEMBERS

Name

 

Email Address

Sub-Committee

Mrs Kim Fox

 

kim.fox@modschools.org

Both

Major Adey Penn

adrian.penn995@mod.gov.uk

SGC Chair

 

Mr Ian Hussein

 

ian.hussein@cwgc.org

SGC Vice Chair / Finance Chair

Mrs Georgia Christodoulou

georgia.christodoulou910@mod.gov.uk

L and S (Safeguarding)

 

Mrs Soumaya Caffrey

 

soumaya.caffrey@modschools.org

L and S (Early Years)

Cpl James Smith

james.smith252@mod.gov.uk

Finance

 

Mr Nigel White

 

nigel.white@forcessocialwork.com

L and S (Art)

WO2 Nathan Biscombe

 

nathan.biscombe610@mod.gov.uk

L and S

CSgt Pete Butler

 

pete.butler147@mod.gov.uk

L and S Chair

Rev Gary Birch

gary.birch101@mod.gov.uk

Finance

Mrs Kate Campbell

kate.campbell@modschools.org

L and S

Mrs Charmaine Smith

charmaine.smith@modschools.org

L and S

Mr Richard Sproson

richard.sproson@modschools.org

Finance

Ms Nicole Kourtellos

nicole.kourtellos@modschools.org

Clerk

 

 

 

Two Committee Structure

SGC leaflet